Parsnip Parsimony- A vegan baking and science blog.

“You’re crazy, Susie!”

“Blogging”. It works for me.

Posted by Susie on January 7, 2008

Maybe I’m preaching to the choir, or stating the obvious, but I really am digging this whole “blog” format.

For a long time, I wanted to try writing a book regarding many of the things I am writing here. But I never got around to that, well, for a lot of reasons. Besides the fact that I didn’t really know enough to round out all that I wanted to say, I found it pretty hard to get past “outline form”, because the topic I had set my sights on writing about was gigantic, and the whole project was very intimidating to start trying to get even a small part into a draft form.

With this blog thing though, I can break my thoughts into easier to chew chunks, leave the stuff I’m not sure about until later, AND get instant gratification and feedback when I post thoughts on one topic. Its nice. And it works for me. Book can wait until I have done more school, because I really would like to limit how precocious I have to be. Veganism forbid I make a false claim or overlook something in print!

And because I hate to post without a picture, here is what I think is REALLY funny lately: Brewing my morning espresso in a 50 mL beaker.

I amuse myself way too easily. I sit in the kitchen, alone, drinking my coffee out of my beaker and laughing at my own joke. Its great. (Lame, but great.)

7 Responses to ““Blogging”. It works for me.”

  1. trina said

    I agree. It does work for you. I so much enjoyed reading about your brioche experiment. I am so excited about this blog.

  2. getsconed said

    susie you are so fun!

  3. Tracy said

    Ha! I totally get the whole beaker thing. I have a tea mug( with matching cereal bowl) that has duck feet. I don’t use them as much as I would like because the legs are unsteady and they keep threatening to tip over!

  4. Dawn said

    It does work! And this way we don’t have to wait. Keep up the good work

  5. I often wonder if some day I could turn my rants into some sort of memoirs, but upon thought I think there’s that whole online/offline shift there.

    Some things I think will forever have more heart when they’re tangible, but information available online, openly, sort of changes everything.

  6. sarchan said

    Susie, I just recently started reading your blog (via the PPK) and I really enjoy reading about all your fascinating food science experiments. Kind of like watching Alton Brown–except I find you more interesting…. Blogging IS great, but if you’d ever decide to compile some of your recipe-experiments into a zine or something, I’d definitely be in line for a copy.

  7. Hi Susie, I really love what you’re doing on this blog — first time I’ve seen real vegan baking science, and I can’t wait to see your egg white replacer recipe! [Dreams of vegan cream puffs droooool...]

    I’m also an editor at a book publisher in Berkeley, CA, and I’d love to talk to you more about someday working on a book. There are a few good vegan baking books out there, but none (as far as I know) that get into real food science details, and I think such a book would do really well. Please email me if you’d like to talk more about it! (I realize you’re still in school and all, so this might be a years-down-the-road sort of thing, but perhaps worth discussing, at least.)

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

